January 13, 2025

The organizational meeting of the St. James Fire District Board of Fire Commissioners was opened at 6:30 PM by District Secretary Kelly Cassidy.

PRESENT: Commissioners Donohue, Theobalt, Scomillio, Gabrielsen and Young; District Secretary Kelly Cassidy, District Treasurer Donna Gruner, District Manager Ed Hope and EMS Coordinator Laurent Barbou.

GUESTS: No guests

- · Nominations were opened for Chairman of the Board for 2025. **APPROVED** on a motion by Commissioner Scomillio seconded by Commissioner Gabrielsen, Commissioner Donohue was elected Chairman of the Board. AIF.
- · Commissioner Donohue assumed the chair of the meeting and called for nominations for Vice Chairman. **APPROVED** on a motion by Commissioner Donohue seconded by Commissioner Gabrielsen, Commissioner Scomillio was elected Vice Chairman of the Board. AIF.
- · Chairman Donohue appointed Kelly Cassidy as the District Secretary, **APPROVED** on a motion by Commissioner Theobalt seconded by Commissioner Young, AIF.
- · Chairman Donohue appointed Donna Gruner Treasurer of the Board, **APPROVED** on a motion by Commissioner Theobalt seconded by Commissioner Young. AIF.
- 7:15PM Commissioner Gabrielsen motions to go into Executive session to discuss employee salaries, Commissioner Scomillio seconds, AIF.

7:28PM Back in session

- · Paramedics salary will \$33 per hour, overtime \$49.50 per hour approximately 3%
- · EMTs salary will be \$24 per hour, overtime \$36 per hour approximately 4.5%

District Secretary will be \$26.80 per hour, overtime \$40.20 per hour 2%

District Treasurer will be \$73,542 per year 2%

District Manager is \$52.53 per hour, overtime \$78.80 per hour 2%

EMS Coordinator \$40.80 per hour overtime \$61.20 per hour 2%

Sean Sackman \$26.00 per hour \$overtime \$39.00 per hour

Chris Cupo \$33.52 per hour, overtime 50.28 per hour approximately 6.35%

Tim Olson \$\$28.27 per hour overtime \$42.41 per hour – approximately 7.55%

Zack Harrington – paramedic will be \$37.83 per hour overtime \$56.75 per hour 2%

New EMT Joe Di Gaetano \$25.00 per hour approximately 8.7%

APPROVED on a motion by Commissioner Theobalt, Commissioner Scomillio seconds, AIF.

- The treasurer's security bond for \$3 million was renewed and is on file. **APPROVED** on a motion by Commissioner Theobalt seconded by Commissioner Donohue, AIF.
- · William Glass Esq. was appointed legal advisor to the Board. **APPROVED** on a motion by Commissioner Scomillio seconded by Commissioner Gabrielsen, AIF.
- · The Smithtown News was named official news media for legal notices, etc. for the District with Smithtown Messenger as a secondary if needed. **APPROVED** on a motion by Commissioner Theobalt, seconded by Commissioner Scomillio, AIF.
- · Capital One Bank was named official depository of District funds. M&T Bank for Ambulance Recovery. **APPROVED** on a motion by Commissioner Scomillio seconded by Commissioner Theobalt, AIF.
- · Nationwide is appointed as the brokerage for holding deposits for the Length of Service Awards Program. **APPROVED** on a motion by Commissioner Theobalt, seconded by Commissioner Gabrielsen, AIF.
- · Regular monthly meetings of the Board will be held on the second Monday of each month. **APPROVED** on a motion by Commissioner Gabrielsen seconded by Commissioner Theobalt.

 The schedule of meetings is as follows and will be published in the Smithtown News.

January 13th	May 12th	September 8th
February 10th	June 9th	October 6th
March 10th	July 14th	November 10th
April 14th	August 11th	December 15th

- · Membership in the following councils or associations was **APPROVED** on a motion by Commissioner Theobalt seconded by Commissioner Gabrielsen, all in favor:
- Smithtown Fire District Officers Association

- Suffolk County Fire District Officers Association
- Smithtown Fire Chief's Council
- Suffolk County Fire Chief's Council
- New York State Fire Chief's Association
- Association of Fire Districts of the State of New York
- Fire District Instructors Conference (FDIC)
- Fireman's Association of the State of New York
- International Association of Fire Chiefs
- N.F.P.A.
- NYS Fire Department Safety Officer's Association
- Suffolk County District Manager's Association
- Suffolk County Fire District's Treasurer and Secretary workshops
- The following contracts were **APPROVED** by the Board on a motion by Commissioner Theobalt seconded by Commissioner Scomillio, AIF:
- · 1. Smithtown Highway Dept Gas and Diesel Fuel Procurement
- · 2. MES/Coastal Fire Systems
- · 3. Day Elevator and Lift
- · 4. Stryker Ambulance Equipment- contract is in effect through the end of 2025.
- · 5. Mankuski Park Training Facilities 6.
- · 6. Winter Brothers Dumpsters
- · 7. Installation Dinner TBD
- · 8. Alpine Software Red Alert
- · 9. First Arriving website
- · 10. ZOLL Medical Equipment

- · 11. Appraisal Affiliates Capital Assets Depreciation Report
- · 12. Universal Fitness Gym equipment maintenance
- · 13. Waterway Hose Testing/Appliance & System Testing and Truck Weighing
- · 14. Flexible Systems Computer/Technical Support
- · 15. Scientific Exterminating
- · 16. RJK Landscaping
- · 17. Clean Air for exhaust system
- · 18. PIPS Professional innovation Program for Treasurers software
- · 19. PS Trax
- · 20. When to Work
- · 21. ESO
- 22. GM Dege Tank Testing
- · All policies will be reviewed on an annual basis and the Chief's Orders, Standard Operating Guidelines and the Department By-Laws are tabled for now.
- · Chairman Donohue made the following appointments **APPROVED** on a motion by Commissioner Scomillio seconded by Commissioner Gabrielsen, AIF:
- Apparatus & Equipment: Commissioner Scomillio
- Building & Grounds: Commissioner Gabrielsen
- Fire Alarms & Alerting: Commissioner Theobalt
- Paid Personnel/Uniforms/Badges and PPE: Commissioner Young
- Insurance, Legislation and Grants: Commissioner Donohue
- LOSAP, Volunteer personnel: Commissioner Theobalt
- Training: Commissioner Scomillio.

- Installation Dinner: Commissioner Donohue.
- · EMS Chairman of the Board of Fire Commissioners appointed was Commissioner Young.
- · 2025 Auditing Firm is Sattay
- · Physicals overseen by the Board Medical Director Gus Mantia, MD. And NDI
- · Actuary for 2025 is Firefly.
- · Maintain our existing reserve funds (Apparatus & Equipment, Building & Grounds, Radio and Unrestricted, Fund Balance) as previously established.
- · 2025 IRS Mileage reimbursement rate is: \$.70 per mile.
- \cdot 2025 daily travel rate per diem will be determined by the current GSA travel rate determined by location.
- · The two Commissioners assigned to the Board of Ethics Committee for 2025 will be Commissioners Young and Scomillio.

The organizational meeting was adjourned at 7:30PM on a motion by Commissioner Theobalt, Commissioner Young seconds, AIF.